Babul Supriyo defeats Moon Moon Sen in Asansol, leads BJP victors in West Bengal


BJP’s only MP from West Bengal in 2014, singer Babul Supriyo again proved his worth’s salt, this time by defeating TMC’s Moon Moon Sen by a huge margin of 1.97 lakh votes. For BJP, the 2019 Lok Sabha elections have bought in a huge mandate, with the party winning 303 Lok Sabha seats on its own and making huge gains in West Bengal, from 1 seat in 2014 to 18 seats in 2019.

The constituency of Asansol had witnessed a lot of drama over the course of elections, with violence taking place all over Bengal at the hands of TMC, including in Asansol also. A controversy took place when TMC candidate from Asansol, Moon Moon Sen said that she wasn’t aware of the violence as she woke up late.

Interestingly, Supriyo, who defeated Congress’ Dola Sen in 2014 was the Minister of State for  Ministry of Urban Development and Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation and was later transferred to Heavy Industries and Public Sector Enterprises in 2016.

Written by News Staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *